Kindle Scribe vs reMarkable for PDFs
Both take PDFs and let you write on them. The Scribe takes bigger files through Send to Kindle; reMarkable has more control over how a PDF fits the screen. With a scanned book, the state of the file matters more than the device.
Key takeaways
- Screen: Kindle Scribe 11 inches; reMarkable Paper Pro 11.8, reMarkable 2 10.3 and Paper Pro Move 7.3 inches.
- Upload: the Send to Kindle website takes 200 MB; reMarkable's web app and USB take 100 MB, with no stated limit in its apps.
- Writing: Amazon says handwriting doesn't work on PDFs copied to the Scribe over USB-C. reMarkable's import guide sets no such rule.
- Fit: reMarkable's Adjust view sets Fit to width, Fit to height or a custom view for a whole PDF. We didn't find an equivalent on Amazon's pages.
- Neither maker's pages we checked say the device adds searchable text to a scanned PDF, so add OCR to the file first.
Side by side, from the makers’ own pages
Most comparisons of these two cover handwriting feel, notebooks and battery. This one covers the PDF: getting it on, fitting it to the screen, and writing on it. Every row comes from Amazon’s or reMarkable’s own pages, and where they don’t say, the table says so.
| Kindle Scribe | reMarkable | |
|---|---|---|
| Screen | 11 inches on all three current models (Amazon) | Paper Pro 11.8 in, 229 ppi; reMarkable 2 10.3 in; Paper Pro Move 7.3 in, 264 ppi (reMarkable, rM2) |
| Colour | Kindle Scribe Colorsoft only | Paper Pro and Paper Pro Move |
| Largest upload in a browser | 200 MB, Send to Kindle website (Amazon) | 100 MB, my.remarkable.com (reMarkable) |
| Over a cable | No published limit, but no handwriting on the PDF | 100 MB over USB |
| Through an app | Not stated | No limit stated; reMarkable’s route for files over 100 MB |
| Cloud import | Google Drive and Microsoft OneDrive | Not covered on the pages we checked |
| Writing on a PDF | Yes, if sent through Send to Kindle (Amazon help) | Yes, write and comment on PDFs in layers (reMarkable) |
| Fit a PDF to the screen | Not found on Amazon’s pages | Adjust view: Fit to width, Fit to height or custom, for every page (reMarkable) |
| Other formats in | PDF, EPUB, DOCX and others via Send to Kindle | PDF and EPUB; JPG and PNG through the web app |
| Searchable text on scans | Not stated | Not stated |
Getting a big PDF onto each
This is where scanned books bite. A grey scan of a long book can run to hundreds of megabytes.
- On the Scribe, the Send to Kindle website takes up to 200 MB, and email up to 50 MB. The cable has no published limit, but Amazon’s help says handwriting isn’t supported on PDFs loaded over USB-C. If you want to write on the book, the 200 MB web limit is the real ceiling.
- On a reMarkable, the web app and USB both stop at 100 MB. The mobile and desktop apps are reMarkable’s answer for anything bigger, with no maximum stated.
So the Scribe takes more in a browser, and the reMarkable takes more through its app. Either way, a cleaned black-and-white copy of a scan is far smaller than the grey original, which makes the question mostly go away.
Fitting the page to the screen
A PDF has a fixed page, and a scan’s page includes margins, scanner edges and the spine shadow. How much each device lets you adjust that on screen differs.
reMarkable documents Adjust view: open the PDF, tap Document settings, then Adjust view, and choose Fit to width, Fit to height or a custom view that you pinch and pan into place. reMarkable says the setting applies to every page in that document.
We didn’t find a matching feature on the Amazon pages we checked, so we don’t claim one either way. Check the reading settings on your own Scribe’s software.
On both, an on-screen view is not the same as fixing the file. The view doesn’t whiten grey paper, doesn’t add text, and doesn’t follow a book that drifts on the scanner glass from page to page.
Writing on a scanned book
Both devices are bought to write on, and both let you write on PDFs. The difference is in the rules:
- Amazon says Scribe handwriting doesn’t work on PDFs loaded over USB-C or sent to the library before 11 November 2022. It also lists handwritten sticky notes as an option on PDFs.
- reMarkable’s import guide places no such rule on PDFs that arrive by USB, the web or the apps.
On either device, your notes belong to the file you wrote them on. Swap in a cleaned copy halfway through a book and the notes stay behind on the old one. So clean the scan before the first note.
Which one for scanned PDFs?
Best suited for: people choosing a device mainly to read and mark up scanned books.
| If you mostly | Lean towards | Because |
|---|---|---|
| Upload big PDFs from a browser | Kindle Scribe | 200 MB against 100 MB |
| Want the largest page | reMarkable Paper Pro | 11.8 inches |
| Need to fine-tune how a PDF fits | reMarkable | Adjust view is documented |
| Carry it everywhere | reMarkable Paper Pro Move | 7.3 inches, but crop scans hard |
| Already keep documents in Google Drive or OneDrive | Kindle Scribe | Amazon names both |
Whichever you pick, fix the file
The device decides how much page you see. The file decides whether that page is worth seeing. A scan cleaned once reads well on either:
- Crop the margins once for the whole book, leaving room to write if you want it.
- Turn the paper white and the print black, keeping pictures in greyscale.
- Add a hidden text layer so you can search and highlight.
FixMyScan does all three in one upload, for books up to 1,000 pages, and keeps every page in place, so a note on page 58 matches page 58 of the printed book.
FixMyScan is not affiliated with Amazon or reMarkable.
Questions
Is the Kindle Scribe as good as reMarkable for PDFs?
For large files, the Scribe's 200 MB web limit is more generous than reMarkable's 100 MB web and USB limit. For fitting a PDF to the screen, reMarkable documents more control. For scanned books, both read far better once the file is cropped, cleaned and OCR'd.
Which has the bigger screen?
The reMarkable Paper Pro, at 11.8 inches. The current Kindle Scribe models are 11 inches. The reMarkable 2 is 10.3 inches and the Paper Pro Move 7.3 inches.
Can I write on PDFs on both?
Yes. Amazon says you can write directly on PDFs on the Kindle Scribe if they were sent through Send to Kindle, not loaded over USB-C. reMarkable takes PDFs through its apps, web app and USB.
Which is better for large PDFs?
Through the browser, the Scribe: 200 MB against 100 MB. reMarkable's mobile and desktop apps have no stated limit, though, so a large file can still reach a reMarkable.
Do either of them make scanned PDFs searchable?
Not that their pages we checked say. Search on a PDF needs a text layer, which a scan only has once OCR adds one.
Which is better for textbooks?
A larger screen shows a large-format page at a more readable size, so the Paper Pro and Scribe have the edge over the 10.3-inch reMarkable 2 and the 7.3-inch Move. Cropping the margins matters on all of them.
Is FixMyScan affiliated with Amazon or reMarkable?
No. FixMyScan is not affiliated with Amazon or reMarkable.
Sources
- Amazon, new Kindle Scribe lineup (11-inch, Google Drive and OneDrive)
- Amazon help, writing on PDFs on Kindle Scribe
- Amazon, Send to Kindle (200 MB)
- reMarkable support, importing and exporting files (100 MB)
- reMarkable support, navigating (Adjust view)
- reMarkable, annotating PDFs with layers
- reMarkable, compare Paper Pro and Paper Pro Move
- reMarkable 2